First open workday

I arrived at site this morning, not knowing quite what to expect.  I’m not a gardener, I have no real experience in growing anything more complex than tomatoes in hanging baskets or grow bags so it was with some apprehension that I arranged to go over to the land.  I drove over (armed with cake) just after the rain this morning and found Frank and Andy discussing where to plant the new raspberry and strawberry plants and talking about the future plan to put espalier fruit trees along one of the fences.

Frank and Andy went off to pick up more things for the site and I was free to wander around – that’s when I took the virtual tour pics.  It was really nice just to roam across the nice green space, seeing the wet grass starting to dry and feeling the heat in the spring sunshine.  Lots of birds were singing and flying around in the trees – a really lovely place to spend an April afternoon.

Frank came back with the strimmer so that he could prepare an area for the new plants to the right of the gate.  He told me about the green manure that he’d planted in the dug soil and that we needed to rake the soil to break it up so that we could plant more seed which would grow better when the soil was less clumpy.  So Frank demonstrated raking and then I got on with raking while he strimmed.

I got quite absorbed in the raking – it was quite hard work as the soil needed quite a bit of breaking up, plus I was trying to avoid the small shoots that were growing, the worms and the various types of spiders that were in the soil!  Some of it I broke up by hand – it was quite satisfying feeling the soil between my fingers and thinking about it becoming productive and growing lovely fruits!

Andy and Frank started planting the raspberry canes after the strimming was done – here’s the first one being planted:

Once I’d finished raking Frank showed me how to sow the seed – I think I did it a bit thickly but we shall see when the plants come up (hopefully!).

Lynn had arrived so there were four of us planting the raspberries – dig a hole, take the raspberry out of the pot, put it in the hole, add more soil, water well, cover in cardboard  (this protects the plant) and then with leaves that we’d got from the top of the site.

 Then it was definatley time for cake, so we had a coffee and cake break (thanks Andy!) and talked about some of the practicalities of the setting up the Community Orchard – funding, bank accounts, leases etc (all stuff to be decided and discussed at a larger public meeting to be held on the 5th or 12th of May – more details later!)

Tina came to join us after the break – bringing more cardboard too as we were runnning out.  More raspberries planted and more strimming done – nice chatting and nice work.

Another few people arrived (didn’t catch all the names – sorry) and the site was buzzing with activity and ideas as the rate of planting accelerated…

Sadly, I had to head off at that point (and my memory card on the camera was full!) – just as the strawberry plants were being readied for planting and the day felt like it was getting into full swing  – but it was great to see everyone mucking in and enjoying the sun and getting things started.  I had a great time – thank you everyone and see you again soon!

So, I’m hoping that someone else took some pics later on (please email them to Frank if you did and he can pass them on to me and I’ll post them up here).  I’ll just have to nip back in a couple of days and see how everything is looking 🙂

Liza

Leave a comment